2017 Community Awards Winners Announced

January 25, 2017

2017 Community Awards Winners Announced


The first Applied Arts Awards program of the year is complete and we are eager to share the results for the first-ever Community Awards! 


We launched this new program on the eve of Canada's sesquicentennial, and to celebrate the 25th anniversary of our Awards. Community is a unique award for us because it highlights the work coming out of Canada’s local markets. Entrants were able to submit their work according to their market size (under 100,000 people, 100,001-500,000 and 500,000+).


Each entry was scored by our panel of judges on creative merit, technical excellence and suitability for end use, all within the context of their market size—a key consideration that affects resources and reach. 


We had several hundred entries submitted to the program, and there are 64 winners from 40 different freelancers or firms. Work will be published in the March 2017 issue, as well as online in our Winners Gallery in March. 


A big thank you goes out to our Community jury, made up of top creative professionals from a range of markets across the country (Read their bios here!).


Congratulations to the Community winners and we look forward to expanding the program next year! The call for entry for 2018 will open in fall 2017.


Aaron Mackenzie Fraser
Adam Hill Studios
BANG! creative
BONE Creative
Bradbury Brand + Design Experts
Branch Graphic Design
Breakhouse Inc.
Breck Campbell Design
Calder Bateman
Channel 13 Advertising and Design Inc.
Cyclone Design Communications
Dark Art
Elixir Marketing
Ewan PhotoVideo
Exton-Stranks Productions Inc
Factor Creative
Jan Kelley
Jason Beattie Photography
Jon Allison Design
Julien Castanie Illustrations
Justin Kowalczuk Design
Luke Despatie & The Design Firm
Mathew Guido Inc.
Mika Creative
Mount Royal University
Ray Agency
RC Design
Reina Procee Photography
Rony Mikhael Art Direction and Design
Spin Design Solutions
The Bauer Kitchen
The Details Design
The Phoenix Group
The University of British Columbia